Lido 1960

History

Lido since 1960

Brasserie History

History

How do you get from an Italian gelateria to a French brasserie? Quite simple: By being born to a family of ice cream makers in a village in the Dolomite Mountains; selling the most delicious ice-cream in the city in mama’s ice cream parlour in Düsseldorf Kaiserswerth as a boy: later becoming a successful businessman with the company capricorn and discovering a love for French cuisine, and finally launching your own restaurant: LIDO.

The gelateria has been in existence and operated under the same name since 1960. And in 2005, Robertino Wild opened his restaurant next to the pedestrian bridge in the Medienhafen district.

Both establishments share an uncompromising attitude toward quality. Signora Wild’s ice cream is still made following the traditional recipe with fresh ingredients and without any additives. Florian Ohlmann, the new Chef de Cuisine at LIDO, employs the same conviction in his kitchen. After all, he learned from his master, Alain Ducasse, that you never compromise and that includes cooking.

Since October 2008, Ohlmann and his team have been responsible for fresh, seasonal cuisine and the implementation of the new gastronomic concept: a brasserie with lounge, which blends traditional style with contemporary French cuisine in an elegant and relaxed atmosphere.

Lido 1960

Historie

Lido seit 1960

Brasserie History

Historie

Wie kommt man von einer italienischen Gelateria zu einer französischen Brasserie? Ganz einfach: Indem man in einem Dorf in den Dolomiten in eine Familie von Eisherstellern hineingeboren wird, als Junge in Mamma’s Eisdiele in Düsseldorf Kaiserswerth das leckerste Eis der Stadt verkauft, später mit der Firma capricorn ein erfolgreicher Geschäftsmann wird, die Liebe zur französischen Küche entdeckt und dann ganz konsequent ein eigenes Restaurant aus der Taufe hebt: das Lido im Hafen.

Die Gelateria gleichen Namens gibt es seit 1960. Sein Restaurant eröffnete Robertino Wild 2005, direkt an der Fußgängerbrücke des Medienhafens.

Beiden Etablissements gemeinsam ist die absolute Kompromisslosigkeit wenn es um Qualität geht: Während das Eis der Signora Wild auch heute noch nach traditioneller Rezeptur mit frischen Zutaten und ohne jegliche Zusatzstoffe hergestellt wird, setzt Florian Ohlmann, Chef de Cuisine des Lido Hafen, das gleiche Credo in seiner Küche um. Denn er hat bei seinem Meister Alain Ducasse gelernt, dass man auch beim Kochen niemals Kompromisse macht.

Das Resultat schmeckt ausgezeichnet: seit Oktober 2008 sind Ohlmann und sein Team für die frische, saisonale Küche sowie die Umsetzung des neuen gastronomischen Konzeptes verantwortlich: einer Brasserie mit Lounge, in der traditionelle Stilelemente sich elegant und unbeschwert mit zeitgemäßer französischer Esskultur vereinen.